The P word and illness

P for Progress

Yes, I made a bit yesterday due to the fact that my sister-in-law was coming over to stay here while I went to the doctor with Erik.  The kids were having their nap and she was just here with her son, playing sudoku, I think, while I was gone.  However, I have a terrible fear of people seeing my house at its worst, so I did some basics – dishes and counter tops, sweeping the floor, cleaning the toilet (which was almost pointless…I’ll explain later).

Deep down, I know she doesn’t care, because she has a two month old baby who is fussy quite often, so she admits that she can’t keep her house clean either.  I just know her mother and the way those girls were raised.  Their standards of cleanliness are much different than mine.  I was mostly raised by a single man who had to work full time and then some, so our house wasn’t very clean unless my grandmother had come to do her semi-annual cleanup, which was downright scary.  She did everything, including re-organizing our clothing.  That part always bugged us, but the clean window sills, spotless refrigerator and mildew free shower were nice. 

But I digress.  My apologies to those of you who have heard this story before.

Anyway, even though I tell myself not to worry about it, and that no one is going to care what my house looks like, I still push to get things done when under the pressure of company.  It’s one thing to have clutter, it’s another to have three day old spaghetti dried to the floor and to have completely run out of spoons because they’re all in the wash.  These seem to be weekly occurrences in my home.

On to the other half of my post (illness): I have another hindrance to cleaning – mastitis!  I had my first bout last week on Tuesday and then, last night (Tuesday), I got it on the other side.  I found that grapefruit seed extract (GSE) could be taken to get rid of the infection, so I took it for three days last week and that one was gone.  Apparently, I’m doing something wrong, though, because I have never had it twice within a week.  I did some reading and found out that anemia can contribute to recurring infections, so I’m going to start taking my iron again and see if that helps.  I think taking some sort of immune booster could help, too, but I’m not sure what I should take.  I’ve always assumed that the problem is my overabundant milk supply when I’m nursing and the fact that I can’t actually tell when I’ve emptied a breast.  I get the feeling that I always have milk and never have empty breasts, but I could be wrong, I suppose.

So, now I’m treating myself a second time with GSE and hoping this isn’t a weekly thing from now on.  The hard part is that it doesn’t just hurt (that’s bad enough as it is).  It makes me sick – like a really bad flu does.  Extreme fatigue, dizziness, aching muscles and sometimes fever.  The good news this time is that I’ve already started taking something, so maybe it will work before the flu symptoms set in.  Last week I had to deal with them for the better part of an afternoon.

I guess the progress I made yesterday can at least make me feel better today about what I don’t feel like doing.  I don’t feel like doing the dishes or cleaning up the basket of blankets and pillows that the kids unloaded in the living room.  I don’t feel like folding laundry, either, but I at least had to put a load in so the sheets would get washed.  Erik decided to pee and squirt-poop on the bed this morning before I could get a new diaper on him.  I guess that would be the benefit of a change table….but we do not have room for one, so the bed has to be good enough for now.  The irony of it is that I was sitting there thinking about how seldom he pees on me.  Okay, I was being cocky apparently.  I’ll be more careful next time.

Leave a comment

Filed under Illness and Injury, The H Word

Leave a Reply

