The baby who didn’t want to sleep, and other stories.

Okay, so Erik does want to sleep, but he doesn’t know it.  He is too involved with the world around him right now and so he takes a lot of convincing to get him to go to sleep.  Convincing, otherwise known as “the breast”. 

Yesterday, in my infected stupor, I really needed a nap.  It seemed as though I had just drifted off when he woke up crying.  I made a few trips back to the bedroom (I was sleeping on the couch) to put the soother back in his mouth (that’s a pacifier to all you Americans), but then just decided to ignore the crying and go back to sleep myself.  It worked.  Yesterday. 

I put him down just before I put the kids down, maybe forty minutes ago, and every time it seems he’s gone to sleep, he starts up again.  I’m afraid I’m made him too reliant on sucking to go to sleep, which is not such a good thing in my mind.  For the life of me, I can’t remember if we used a soother to make Elias sleep or not.  I just remember that he sucked his thumb really early.  Anyway, today I’m trying to ignore it, even though it seems he’s just going to keep it up.  I know that eventually he’ll have to go to sleep, just because he’s exhausted.

I’m not feeling so awful today, so I whipped up some muffins to take to Bible study tomorrow and I did a bit of lunch clean up (don’t worry, I didn’t do too much).  After the kids had been in bed for a while and I assumed they were asleep, Jenny surprised me by saying she had to go to the bathroom.  When I opened the door, she was stark naked.  Have I mentioned this new obsession?  Yeah, she likes to take her clothes off.  I’m not enjoying it very much, but at least she hasn’t done it in public yet.  It usually doesn’t happen during naps, so I was surprised by that also.  The most common time for stripping is at night – if she gets up in the middle of the night, she’s frequently naked or down to her underwear.  It’s summer, and often warm in the house, so I don’t really mind if she just sleeps in underwear, but I’m kind of down on her being entirely nude.

Since I’ve touched on two of my children, I’ll move on to the middle one.  The clingy, emotional, whiny, demanding, adorable, almost two year old boy.  It’s a good thing he’s so cute, because man, is he a cry baby.  I sincerely hope he grows out of this.  Things that happened today to demonstrate his personality: I put soup in the microwave to heat and he promptly burst into tears because he thought I was taking it away and not going to give him lunch.  He came in the kitchen to sit with me but was not being very nice, so I put him down, and he burst into tears.  I would not give him candy when he asked for it and..you guessed it – tears.  The hard thing is to be firm with him and not let him get away with things because he is so beautiful.  If he was our only child, he would be spoiled.  I can almost guarantee it.  The kid has huge dark brown eyes and long eyelashes and can give you a look that just melts you.  Of course, then he asks for “nandy” and you have to say no and those huge dark eyes fill up with tears and his cute pouting mouth opens wide with a near scream.  It’s not very pleasant.

Well, while I’m at it, I may as well say something about myself.  I went this morning for a barium x-ray to check out my esophagus.  My mom and her dad have a condition called either Shotsky’s Ring or Feline Esophagus, which basically makes it very difficult to swallow things unless they are very well chewed.  The esophagus gets narrow where it shouldn’t be with a Shotsky’s Ring, and if I remember right, with Feline Esophagus, the whole thing is bumpy..or something.  I seemed to have inherited one of these conditions as well, but the x-ray will show us how bad it is.  My mom used to have her esophagus stretched, but there are other procedures now that could help me to avoid the pain that comes with getting food stuck in my throat.  It’s not choking, but it hurts pretty bad and it usually requires forced vomiting, which then makes people think you’re bulimic.  I’m not, by the way, in case you ever follow me to the bathroom in a restaurant and hear me puking.  I’m either pregnant or have something stuck.

The irony of it is that I went for my x-ray on an empty stomach (it’s required) and went for some breakfast on my way to pick up the kids.  Two bites into my Tim Horton’s breakfast sandwich, it got stuck.  Badly.  So badly that I had to pull the van over and throw up in a cup.  Sorry.  I hope you’re not eating right now.  I am…man, these muffins are amazing.

Okay, I’ve touched on the kids and myself, how about Mike?  All I can say about Mike right now is that he loves his job and has been working a lot of overtime.  He’ll be working Saturday again, but since we need the money, I don’t mind very much.  I’ll take the good job and required overtime over a job that he hates.  If he hated his job (or just didn’t like it much), it would be hard to ask him to work overtime, even if we needed the money.

On another, completely unrelated note, we’re going south next month.  More than likely around the 23rd, although I haven’t spoken to my sister, so I can’t be completely sure.  I want to know if she wants us there before her wedding so that I can help her a bit, or if it doesn’t matter.  If it doesn’t matter to her, I think we’ll go just before that weekend and stay into the next week, although I don’t know how long yet, either.  Mike is going to find out how much time he can have off before we finalize anything.  If I only had one kid to travel with, I’d consider going down with him and then taking the bus back home, but I can’t imagine doing it with all three by myself.  And anyway, then we’d have the cost of bus tickets and the cost of gas for the van both ways.  And gas is not cheap right now.

I had other things to say, but forgot most of them.  I was going to mention that I feel like painting, and since I bought canvas last night and some crackle medium, I may just do that.  Or maybe I should take a nap, instead.

If it’s not too much trouble, I do have one request of my readers.  If you read this, could you post a comment for me?  I’m wondering how many people are actually reading and how many people just stumble upon the blog because they were searching for “pictures of messy housewives” – something I never intended with my title.  I know I have at least one person who reads most of what I write, but I’d love to know it if there are others who read regularly.  If you don’t mind saying – tell me where you’re from, too.  I know that I read a number of blogs (yes, mostly food blogs) and they’re all over the world, and I rarely post comments (like, I did it twice, I think), so the blogger would have no idea that they have a reader in Northeastern British Columbia.

Anyway, that’s all for now.

Oh, and for those who need convincing on the “Elias is cute” subject, here he is:

Elias in all his ruddy boyhood

6 Comments

Filed under Illness and Injury, Kiddos, Life, in general, Mi familia

6 responses to “The baby who didn’t want to sleep, and other stories.

  1. Hello.

    I like your site and wanted to know if you would be interested in exchanging blogroll links.

    Thanks in advance

  2. Hi, Katie it’s Brandi’s friend Cassie. I frequently read your blog and wish I was as up to date with my blog as you are with yours.

  3. hey there, i’m Faiqah…from Singapore. just across the globe from ya. interesting post, you have here. and just like you, i normally shoved the pacifier into my baby’s mouth at night to get her to sleep and yup, it works. most times 🙂

    do visit!

  4. Hello, I found your blog from Eriks birth blog (which I just found at the end :)) Im from Iowa,USA! I’ve been reading since about a week before he was born!

  5. Marian

    Hey Katie

    I read too I just love the way you write. You make the dullest things interesting, thats a compliment btw.

  6. Thanks, everybody!! Marian, I totally know what you mean – I enjoy making dull things interesting. If I wasn’t able to do that, this blog would be pretty boring. 😉

Leave a Reply

