Where on Earth have you been?!?

Or rather, where have I been?  I know, for awhile there it looked like I’d be writing nearly every day, and then I just quit.  I’m pretty sure something was going on when I first stopped writing, but then I just started reading so much, I didn’t feel like writing.  I made my way through about five novelsand I’m almost at the end of the sixth with one more in the queue.  I also cut my hair and pierced my nose since my last post.  I don’t even think I mentioned planning to do those things.  The nose is something I’ve wanted to do for a long time and the real reason I decided to cut my hair is that it was worth fifteen points in the photo scavenger hunt I’m doing for the city.  But since I pierced my nose on a Saturday and cut my hair on the following Tuesday, I’ve made a few people think that I’m having something akin to a mid-life crisis.  The haircut is pretty extreme for me…even though it isn’t very extreme at all.  It’s just pretty short in a few places and somewhat trendy.  Yeah, I know.  I usually just hate trendy things, but I’m very happy with the outcome.  As for my nose, it hurt like crazy but I love it and even Mike is getting used to it.  He had about a year and a half to think on it…seeing that I decided then that I really wanted to do it.  It just took me this long to actually get it done.  The funny thing is that typically all this new-ness would have cost me a pretty penny, but I had a coupon for a free body piercing (I know..funny, isn’t it) and it only cost me $2.50 for the tax or something.  Then I called around and found a salon in town that has an apprentice who is FREE!  Hooray!  My sister-in-law actually got her hair cut for free the hour before I did and both of our cuts turned out pretty nice. 

Anyway, before I start to gross myself out with all this self-glorifying writing (that’s what it feels like anyway), I will say that all the reading has definitely affected my house negatively.  I did finally sweep up on Monday night and put a bunch of things away, but the kids’ room, our room and the kitchen have been in need of work for months without being touched.  I almost feel inspired today, but the temperature is rising fast inside and out and I may wimp out in favour of laying in bed in front of the fan when I have some time.  It seems like the only time that the house is cool enough to work in is the middle of the night, and there’s no way I’m going to clean in the middle of the night.  So for now I’m going to do what I can and wait for cooler weather.

Our trip south is rapidly approaching – in about two weeks, we should be in Washington and then in Oregon on the 23rd for my sister’s wedding.  At the moment, I’m just waiting for Mike to talk to his boss about taking two extra days than what he asked for.  Here’s hoping…

So, no promises, but I’m thinking about slowing down on the reading after I finish the next book, which would probably mean more writing.  But you never know, I may find something else to occupy my time.

Leave a comment

Filed under Home Sweet Home, Life, in general, The H Word

Leave a Reply

