The rut strikes again

Yes, that’s right.  I’m in a rut.  If I made a list of all the things that need doing around the house, it would be pretty long.  Wait, why don’t I just do that?  Then you can either feel sorry for me or you can think terrible things about my housekeeping skills.  Whichever you like, really.

Kitchen – desk needs de-cluttering, floor needs sweeping and mopping, recycling needs to be taken out, counters need cleaning and organizing, fridge could use cleaning pretty badly, plus a few other small jobs here and there

Living room – de-cluttering, more recycling to go out (we have a huge bag that wouldn’t fit in the kitchen anymore sitting by the front door), fortunately not much else; it’s my cleanest room

Bathroom – shower and tub need a really good scrub, floor needs cleaning

Master bedroom – needs a total cleanup and de-cluttering, vacuuming, sorting clothes, etc.

Kids room – also needs total cleanup and de-cluttering, shelves need to be put up (still), top bunk needs to be cleared and set up for sleeping

Laundry room – top to bottom cleaning and clearing out needed…it’s really bad.  I just try to keep a path to the backdoor visible.

If I really started looking, there would probably be more jobs to do, but this is pretty thorough as it is.  I also have lots of excuses and really, I think most people would be okay with me using them.  Let me describe my summer to you:

June: pregnancy, bad cough/cold, Erik’s birth, cough lasts at least a week after Erik is born.

July: cold is gone for a short time, trying to get used to three kids and get into a good routine, hit with series of breast infections and then the flu.

August: first week is ridiculously hot, so housework feels impossible, weather cools down and I promptly get a nasty cold that has now turned into a sinus infection.

Add to this the fact that we’re taking a trip south next week so I feel that leaving the house in this state would be awful and the pressure is just mounting!  Also, Mike started working Saturdays in July and Sundays are usually spent with his family, so I have had hardly any time with him at home when he could actually help me with a few of these projects (I can’t put up those shelves by myself, which means I can’t clear off the kids’ top bunk and de-clutter their room).

I do have a cunning plan for the kids room, though.  I’m going to pack up nearly every toy they own.  I will leave a few favourites and some books (like less than ten of each), but everything else is going in a big box for awhile.  I suppose after awhile, I’ll switch out the ones that are out, but the main reason I’m doing this is because my kids seem to be trashing their room because they are so bored with too many toys.  It feels like any time I clean everything up, they just throw it all around the room again.  Elias has decided that his favourite thing to do to a clean room is to throw all of the books onto the floor from the bookcase.  These books then get spread around, creating the first top-layer of stuff over the floor, followed by stuffed animals, dolls, Little People, parts of Mr. and Mrs. Potato Head, blocks, and various other small toys.  It gets old.  They’ve now gotten so tired of it that Jenny is climbing on top of the bunk to see what she can find there.  A few days ago, I went in to get them and found that she had thrown a whole file of literature and newsletters onto the floor from a box on top of the bed.  So obviously, those need to go right away.  Also, if she’s ready to sleep on the top bunk, she needs to have it cleared off.  I thought it was a great idea – using the top bunk for storage.  But now I’m dreading going through everything and organizing.

It all comes down to the same thing – I really hate cleaning.  So if I can watch movies, read books, sleep, bake, etc. I will instead of cleaning.

Same old thing, I know, and more complaining.  My apologies.  I’ll try to get better. 😉

2 Comments

Filed under Life, in general, The H Word

2 responses to “The rut strikes again

  1. Well, don’t feel too bad. I’m also going to be out of town next weekend and
    the weekend after; however, to leave my home in the state its in would eat
    away at me while I was away. Thus, I too feel the pressure to clean everything
    like “now!” LOL!

    Hang in there!

  2. Thanks! Good to know I’m not the only one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

