Early mornings, where is Christmas? Puke and pronuciation.

Yes, that’s what I said.  I will finish my thought from last time and explain the “cliff-hangers” I left (haha..the thought of people hanging on my every word just cracks me up), but then I have some new and ridiculously interesting things to say (laughter again).

Early mornings.  Jenny has decided that waking up before Mike leaves for work or just after he leaves is a great idea.  Elias doesn’t do so well with this, and so halfway through the day, he is grumpy and whiny..and Elias-y.  This morning I had to get up earlier than normal (way earlier, actually) because we went with my mother-in-law to the next town to do some shopping – she works there, it’s forty minutes away, and they have stores that we don’t, for some stupid reason.  Anyway, I was up before Mike was, and it seems that this is happening a little more frequently as of late.  I don’t necessarily get up and let the kids out when they wake up early – I usually wait for Jenny to say she has to go the bathroom before I do that – but it still makes it hard to keep sleeping when I can hear them laughing and yelling and throwing things in the next room.  Yeah, I could whine about this for a long time..next thought.

Christmas snuck up on me this year.  The lack of decorations is due to the size and layout of our house and the type of decorations we have.  We don’t have space for a tree unless we do major rearranging, and I don’t trust my kids with a tree anyway.  As for the rest of the decorations, I did manage to bring a few sets of lights in from the shed, as well as some things to hang on the wall to make it look just a little bit festive, but the farthest I’ve gotten is to hang a little wooden sign over the mirror by the door that says: “So many flakes, so little time.”  I had a good laugh over that one back when I bought it years ago…ah, good old double meanings.  This may be all that gets done.  The lack of planning for Christmas, on the other hand, is solely my fault due to laziness and procrastination.  I kept telling myself, “I have so much time!” and then suddenly it was a week before Christmas and nothing was done.  Because my family and a good number of my friends are in the states, mailing cards and gifts takes pre-planning.  It generally takes a minimum of a week to get things there, so by the time I had this light bulb above my head, it was too late to expect anything to get there on time.  Bah, humbug.

The thing about schedule conflicts is past, but I will at least leave a blurb about it.  Sunday: church, lunch, naps, employee/family Christmas party, Jenny’s stage debut at our church singing Away in a Manger.  Christmas party started at 5:30, performance started at 6:30.  We left the party after the kids got gifts from “Santa” and rushed to the church so that Jenny could stand on the stage NOT singing through the first verse of the song, and then stand with her back to the large congregation for the second time through.  She added a backwards glance and heavy sigh to make sure people knew this was so not cool.  Yeah.  Everyone expects some kid to do this, but I just didn’t think it would be mine.  Anyway, after that, we rushed back to the party to bowl.  It was not such a great party.  Then we came home, put the kids to bed, finished one movie and started another and Mike went to a hockey game.  He had the opportunity to play two games that night, but I put my foot down.  Two activities is not bad, three is more than enough and four is just silly.

Economy.  Things are expensive.  Gas is cheaper now, but groceries break the bank.  No more overtime + no promised raise = forced budgeting and putting savings on hold.  More humbugs.  That’s okay, we’ve seen worse times than this and made it through just fine.

Here comes the fun part.

I made chicken pot pie last night.  Well, veggie chicken pot pie, anyway.  It was good, Mike especially loved it, I ate just a bit too much, the kids ate just a bit too little.  One hour later (ish), I got the most terrible feeling in my stomach.  We went to bed early last night since I had to get up early this morning.  We were in bed by nine o’clock – a rare treat – but my stomach hurt so bad, it took me two hours to even drift off.  And then I got up and puked.  And went back to bed shivering.  And got up and puked.  And puked again.  At one point, I was wearing my nightgown (yes, I wear a nightgown…and no, I don’t mean an old lady one or a piece of lingerie..it’s a nice in-between), a pair of fleece pajama pants and a fleece housecoat.  I woke up feeling all right and made it through a day of driving and shopping just fine, but on the way home, it started to resurface.  Right now, after eating the only thing that sounded good to me – sticky white rice, miso soup and one piece of inari – I feel like puking again.  What a waste of…however much money I spent on it.  I should go to bed, but I get the feeling that it will just be a repeat of last night.  I’d rather stay up, get the puking out of the way and then go to bed.

So, this is the fun part. 

Mike said tonight, after putting Elias to bed, “Ah, my son’s two favourite things: beer and boobies.”

 

Elias is talking a lot lately, but his pronunciation is still something that only we really understand.  My family actually brought the second thing up when we were in the states visiting – they had noticed that Elias asked for “boobies” a lot.  I’m sure some of them thought he was still nursing or something, but what that actually means is “movies”.  As for the beer, no, we don’t get our two year old inebriated – he just likes his stuffed “bear” to be in bed with him at night.  That was what prompted Mike to say what he said – Elias’s request for his bear as he went to bed.

Anyway, I thought it was funny.  But then, he is my kid, and we generally think our kids are a lot funnier than other people find them to be.  So laugh, or don’t laugh.

Goodnight.

Leave a comment

Filed under Illness and Injury, Life, in general

Leave a Reply

