Co-sleeping article – must read!

If you are pregnant, have a new baby, or are just confused about everything you’ve heard about co-sleeping, check out this article.  I have always put my babies to bed in their own bed, but often, they spend more than half the night in bed with me, at least until they are six months old.  Erik has started sleeping until about five in the morning, so now he just spends the morning with me.  I would not do it any different – it has certainly encouraged me to continue breastfeeding, because unlike women who bottle feed or get up to nurse their babies, I get to go back to sleep when my baby is eating.  While I felt somewhat nervous in the beginning with Jenny, it has become second nature to sleep aware of my child being in bed with me.  I am not a huge proponent of prolonged co-sleeping, but that has a lot more to do with my relationship with my husband than anything else.  Once our kids start sleeping through the night, they don’t sleep in bed with us.  This author makes a good point, though – that room sharing is another form of co-sleeping and has no associated risks.  By keeping my children in my bedroom for their first nine months (or so), I can hear what they are doing and am naturally more aware of what they are doing in their sleep. 

Anyway, check out the article – it’s well written and makes a number of really important points about this controversial topic.

Leave a comment

Filed under All things mommy and daddy related, Kiddos

Leave a Reply

