Best free thing this year

The book...it is MINE!!
The book…it is MINE!!

I went to the library on Saturday on an simple mission – return books, pay fines, possibly get a few new movies and books.  I turned in my books on CD, picked out two books and four movies and paid my eight dollars in fines (oops..four movies two days late adds up really fast).  As I was leaving, I looked at the area near the door where they have free books – either donated books that can’t be put on the shelf or withdrawn books that are somewhat damaged.  The first thing that caught my eye was this book.  I grabbed it on a whim, thinking that at the very least, it would give me a few good bread recipes in one place, rather than using the Internet or looking in three different cook books that I already own.  When I got into the van and started looking at it (don’t worry, I wasn’t driving), I was blown away.  This is seriously an awesome cook book!  Not only are there basic white and whole wheat bread recipes, but a whole section on sourdough starter and its uses – bread – obviously – but also pancakes, coffee cake, rolls, biscuits, muffins and English muffins.  And then it got even better – pretzel, bagel and donut recipes.  And not just one recipe for each, but many variations.  There is also a whole section on quick breads – coffee cakes, sweet rolls, muffins, biscuits, corn bread, pancakes, waffles, popovers….it’s an aspiring bakers dream book!  Anyway, I thought I would share my find with you.  It is an older book – published in 1979 – but not so old that it has outdated recipes with lots of lard or other weird ingredients (or perhaps more importantly, ingredients that are unfriendly to vegetarians).  And it is readily available on amazon: here – and not even expensive, but the point is, I didn’t know about it before and I got it for FREE.  Free is good. 

1 Comment

Filed under Food Blogs

One response to “Best free thing this year

  1. Mmmm…coffee cake, muffins, pancakes…sounding good to my pregnant ears:) I agree…free is good.

Leave a Reply

