Writing for profit? No way!!

Does that title sound too familiar?  Well, this time it’s writing, not knitting.  And it’s blogging, specifically.  I haven’t quite made up my mind about it, and I’ll need more information before I decide for sure, but it sounds good right now.  I write a lot during the day anyway, and if it’s an easy job to do, why not make a little money on it?  The weird thing is that I had just been considering this possibility in the last few days and I hadn’t really said anything to anyone about it yet when a friend of mine said her husband is looking to out-source some articles for a website.  Anyway, I’ll keep the blog up to date on what happens with this, but right now it’s mighty tempting. 

We’ve been waiting for over a month for Mike’s tax refund to get here  and I just checked and it’s in the bank!  The problem is that it’s over a thousand dollars less than what we expected it to be.  We were audited for our charitable donations, which is why it has taken so long to get to us, but I would really like to see Mike’s assessment so I could understand why it’s so much less than we thought it would be.  I thought I was so careful when I did the math!  If this is the case, we’ll have to rethink a little of the money distribution that we had planned out.  We have five thousand still owing on our van – we’ve transferred it around from line of credit to low interest credit cards for a while now, and managed to whittle it down this far, but we were planning to pay the whole thing off with this money.  We also have to get the power steering fixed in our van and my wisdom teeth surgery in June is going to cost us over eight hundred dollars.  I have to say right now that a little extra income is sounding even better.  Mike might be due for a raise soon, but that’s just a guess and I don’t know when it would be happening.  I’m starting to think maybe it would be better not to have my wisdom teeth out this year….

I guess I shouldn’t get too far ahead of myself.  For now, I’ll just wait to find out whether this is all the money we’re getting or if they made a mistake calculating our return.  But I doubt that…I mean, when does the goverment ever make a mistake when it comes to money?  Even if they made one, they didn’t…if you know what I mean. 

Bah!  I need to do something else – this worrying isn’t doing me any good.

Leave a comment

Filed under Money, Rants

Leave a Reply

