Day 1: Galatians 6:7-8

For a reminder of what I’m doing here, see this post.

Galatians 6:7-8

Do not be deceived, God is not mocked; for
whatever a man sows, that he will also reap.

For he who sows to his flesh will of the flesh reap
corruption, but he who sows to the Spirit will of
the Spirit reap everlasting life.

 

This one was easy – I knew what I would write as soon as I read the first part of the verse.  What you sow, you will reap.  What you plant in the ground will surely grow up and there will be no changing it.  What I have planted in my home, in my children, in my marriage, will either reap benefits or consequences later in my life.  In relation to housework, when I repeatedly throw tags from new clothing, socks, clothes that aren’t quite dirty and other random things on the floor at the end of my bed, I will eventually have quite a mess on my hands and I will have to clean it up, like I did today.  With my children, if I tell them I love them and show them by being the mom they need me to be, I will hopefully be helping them along to being healthy and happy adults.  In my marriage, when I take the time to talk to Mike about what is bothering me or what I like, things won’t pile up inside me and spill out all at once. 

In relation to the second half of this verse, what I do for myself selfishly will only benefit me and possibly hurt others, whereas what I do for others and what I do to work towards growth in Christ’s love will only reap rewards, whether here or in Heaven.  Making these choices for good time usage is not always easy.  It is easier to sit around doing a whole bunch of nothing that makes me feel good than to spend time investing in other people’s lives.  It is easier to make the mess and leave it for someone else to clean up, but it will always be my responsibility as long as I am alive.

 

This verse of the day comes from VOTD.

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith, Mi familia, The H Word

Leave a Reply

