Day 2: James 4:10

For a reminder of what I’m doing this month, read this post.

James 4:10

Humble yourselves in the sight of the Lord, and He will lift you up.

This verse did not immediately strike me as having any relation to my everyday life, but when I think about it, it’s very applicable.  I think that this is the beauty of God’s word – it can relate to us in nearly every situation.  If I am prideful about my abilities to take care of my home and family, I will surely fail.  I have experienced this plenty of times already.  If I admit that I am nothing without my Saviour and continually seek His help with even the mundane details of my life, He will help me.  If I seek to be full of humility, He will lift me up in my times of need.

I could certainly use His help lately.  Erik has a bad cough again and just as soon as we planned to go to bed last night, he woke up and didn’t go back to sleep fully for two hours.  It was one o’clock before we went to sleep and at two, he was awake again.  I sleep while I feed at night, so I was at least able to sleep while he ate, but a good deal of the night was spent sitting him up while he coughed.  I was sleeping soundly this morning when Mike’s alarm went off, and even drifted back to sleep when he hit snooze, but before he even got up for work, the kids got up.  I sent them back to their room to play for awhile after Mike got up and left, but I never did go back to sleep.  I’m hoping that at the very least I can have a short nap this afternoon, which means limiting Erik to a very short nap this morning so he’ll have one later. 

I know that to lots of people, all this would either sound like boring details or make them not want to have kids, but I know that this too shall pass and that God will be my help as I raise my kids.  I love them and I know it will all be worth it in the long run.

Yesterday was one of those “take lots of deep breaths so I won’t lose it” days, and after scrounging up supper for Mike and the kids, I decided to go out to eat by myself.  I had to go out to the library and I planned it so I could go after Erik was fed and in bed.  I made a quick stop at the library and then went to a nice dark, quiet restaurant that we usually use for date nights.  I love their menu and even though I expected to get something I hadn’t had before, it was the black bean and corn enchiladas that sounded best.  I had checked out a book at the library, so I ate slowly and read and took advantage of the break.  It obviously turned out to be a good thing that I had a nice break from the stresses of home since Erik was so difficult all night. 

Anyway, the point is, while I can do some things to help myself feel better or less stressed, it is only God who can give me peace that passes all understanding.

 

This verse of the day comes from VOTD.

2 Comments

Filed under Faith, Illness and Injury, Kiddos

2 responses to “Day 2: James 4:10

  1. I totally feel you in the area of looking to God for strength and help in EVERY area. During this postpartum period, I keep having this “Oh God, everything is out of control” feeling. Part of me can’t wait to be up on my feet again so I can do everything and get a routine established. However, I’ve had to be patient and trust that God will see our family through this transition and allow everything/everyone to be taken care of. Its quite humbling.

    BTW: I”m not a fan of tattoos either, but I have always thought those ring tattoos were a cute idea:)

    • Katie

      He will see you through – hang in there! My postpartum times have always been like that – I think it’s just part of the baby blues that come a little after having a new one. Not to mention the stress of adding another life to your home that you have to do everything for!

Leave a Reply

