Day 5: Psalm 36:7

For a reminder of what I am doing this month, read this post.

Psalm 36:7

How precious is your unfailing love, O God! All humanity finds shelter in the shadow of your wings.

No explanation for why VOTD had no verse for March 31, but today’s verse was an April Fool’s joke (not appreciated, although it was funny), so we are back to Air1 for our verse of the day today.

I have just returned from an awesome prayer meeting with three of the girls from my Thursday morning Bible study.  We are all young moms, which certainly makes it easier to understand what the others are going through, and I think it also made praying together more natural.  We met after our kids were in bed, which further enhanced the experience, since for the most part, we weren’t spending time worrying about them. 

This verse is therefore so appropriate for today, even though I have only read it just now, after eleven at night.  I felt as though we really were under His wings tonight, and that He was there with us, listening to our requests, both mundane (in our eyes) and serious.  We prayed for our families, for pregnancies, for health, healing, wisdom, encouragement, peace, patience, and so much more, and through it all, He was with us.  I felt led to other scriptures during our time praying and they, too, were proof of His presence.  I have forgotten over time what it feels like to be in His presence daily, but I want that to change.  I truly want to see His unfailing love as precious, and to take shelter in the shadow of His wings. 

I spent the first twelve hours of my day running here and there, doing errands and cleaning my house, taking a break in the middle to share some sushi with a dear friend who kept my kids for me during most of this time.  I feel very satisfied with the work I got done, but it all pales in comparison to the feeling I had during that prayer meeting.  It really put things in perspective for me, anyway. 

Now I just have to hope I get enough sleep to be awake during Bible study tomorrow.  I suggested to the girls that maybe Wednesday nights are not the best night to meet, as it gets late and we all have to get up early the next morning.  It sounds like this may be happening as often as every two weeks, which I would really enjoy and benefit from. 

Anyway, may you look at things in perspective today – even if your house is a wreck, God is listening, watching and loving you every minute.  If your life is a wreck (even if your house is clean), this is still true.  Nothing you have done can take His love away – it is unconditional and eternal.  He knows your needs before you have even asked Him (Matthew 6:8), He will take the burden from your shoulders (Psalm 81:6) and you can do all things through Him who gives you strength (Philippians 4:13)!

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith, Home Sweet Home, Life, in general, The H Word

Leave a Reply

