Day 6: Luke 6:43-45

For a reminder of what I am doing this month, read this post.

Luke 6:43-45

“For a good tree does not bear bad fruit, nor does a bad tree bear good fruit. For every tree is known by its own fruit. For men do not gather figs from thorns, nor do they gather grapes from a bramble bush.

A good man out of the good treasure of his heart brings forth good; and an evil man out of the evil treasure of his heart brings forth evil.

For out of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaks.”

What is in our hearts will surely be brought to light in one way or another.  If there is good in our hearts, it will show itself in the fruits of our lives – our actions and words towards others, our attitudes about circumstances and situations, and the decisions we make.  In my own life, I can only hope to find good in my heart by the good in my actions.  When my heart is holding bitterness, anger, deceit, etc., it is made known through my words and actions.  It is not easy to say “I love you” to my husband and kids when these things fill my heart.  It is easier to get angry, lash out verbally or close myself off from them if my heart is full of bad things.

One thing I have had to learn over time is that cleanliness is not necessarily close to Godliness.  Many people mistake this for a Bible verse and use it on their kids in order to get them to clean their rooms, wash behind their ears or do chores.  A clean heart is so much more important than a clean house.  Thankfully, a clean house often follows a clean heart, and I find that when I’m on track with God, it is easier to be on track with daily chores around my house.  There was a time when I equated my dislike of housework and my often messy home with a lack of faith on my part, but this was no necessarily true.  I watched older women of faith keep things spic and span and perfectly tidy and figured that it meant I was a bad Christian as well as being a bad housekeeper.  While I know that clutter is not good for my family and it is healthier to have a clean home, I also know that it is possible to get so caught up in cleaning that you miss the things that God has put right in front of you.  My husband’s grandmother spent years keeping a clean house and then realized that she could never go back.  She has encouraged me to forget about stressing over it and just enjoy my kids while they are young.  I am trying to take that advice and put it into practice while keeping balance in my home. 

As for the kind of fruit we are bearing – our houses may be cluttered and in need of vacuuming, but if we are reaching out to others, putting God first in our lives, loving our children and spouses as we are taught to, we will be bearing good fruit. 

I feel a little distracted right now (Erik’s crying is not helping with this), so hopefully this comes out making sense.  Thanks for reading!

This verse of the day comes from VOTD

3 Comments

Filed under Faith, Home Sweet Home, The H Word

3 responses to “Day 6: Luke 6:43-45

  1. Oh wow! You got a new look around here! I like the header! Do you love target really? LOL! That $100.00 gift certificate was great…I love getting them too.

  2. Tara Lokstet

    Wow! I didn’t know you wrote everyday. Although Garry informs me that this is what a blog is supposed to be;) I can get my devotions here with my facebook addiction:) lol.

  3. Katie

    Well, at the moment, I’m writing every day, but I might not keep up with that after I’m done with this month. There are definitely times in my regular blogging schedule when I don’t write for a week or more. I’m also taking the weekends off for now, too – at least from the devotional posts.

Leave a Reply

