Day 10: John 5:24

For a reminder of what I am doing this month, read this post.

John 5:24

“Most assuredly, I say to you, he who hears My
word and believes in Him who sent Me has
everlasting life, and shall not come into
judgment, but has passed from death into life.”

This is yet another promise – if we hear His Word and we believe in Him, we will have eternal life.  We have passed from death into life – we were dead, but we can truly live now.  The beauty of this living is that it does not have to end when we die – we will live on with Christ.  What a great promise! 

One important thing I can say is in regard to “hearing His Word”.  When I give my children instructions, I usually finish off with, “Do you understand me?”  It is a test to see if they were listening and to find out if they understand the instructions.  There is an appropriate response to this question: “Yes, Mama.”  I think we could use a bit of this when we are listening to God’s voice – either reading Scripture or just hearing His voice in our hearts – we ought to say to God, “Yes, Father, I understand You.”  It is too easy to let it breeze through us and then forget what the meaning was.  I do this at times by keeping track of these things – in a journal or my Bible – by sharing them with others, or at the very least, by underlining verses in my Bible that stood out to me. 

Belief and confession of belief are the most important parts of the process, but hearing His Word is such an important part of the walk that follows your first decision to follow Him.  We will have little or no growth if we do not commune with our Saviour on a regular basis.

My tonsillitis has gotten worse and I have to wait one more day to start antibiotics, if my strep test came back positive.  My doctor and I are pretty certain it will, but because of how many antibiotics I’ve been on this year already, we feel it’s best to wait and be sure. Also, I have a consultation with a surgeon on Wednesday to talk about having my tonsils out – finally!  At this point, I just want to be better and not be wincing every time I swallow. 

So there’s a new blog coming soon…one devoted entirely to craft.  Yay!  I will post the link when my first entry is up.  🙂

This verse of the day comes from VOTD.  

Leave a comment

Filed under Art, Faith, Illness and Injury

Leave a Reply

