Day 12: Ephesians 2:4-5

For a reminder of what I am doing this month, read this post.

Ephesians 2:4-5

…But God, who is rich in mercy, because of His great love with which He loved us, even when we were dead in trespasses, made us alive together with Christ (by grace you have been saved)…

I hope all of you had a relaxing and refreshing Easter holiday – we spent most of our at my in-laws, playing games and eating way too much.  More on that later…

I like the descriptive nature of this verse.  It does not just tell us what God did for us, but tells us why – because of the great love with which He loves us.  His love is not a shallow, self-serving love (although this kind of love can hardly be called love at all), but a GREAT love.  How blessed we are that even if we are utterly alone in the world, our Creator loves us greatly.  Not only does He love us, but while we were still full of sin – dead in our trespasses – He made a way for us to live with Christ.  Wouldn’t it be something if everyone could know the feeling of real life that He provides for us with salvation? 

I had intended to relate these verses to my life as a housewife, but many of them in the last week have been more broad – relating to salvation.  I am thankful that I am saved, and it should be something that permeates even my life at home.  It was interesting trying to explain to Jenny yesterday why we celebrate Easter.  I don’t think she understands the concept of sin, salvation or even God entirely yet.  She knows how to pray, and does so often before meals or when she wants to remind God about that sister she doesn’t have yet.  I just don’t think she gets it yet.  I’m okay with that, and will just keep telling her about God’s great love and His sacrifice until she is old enough to understand. 

The Duggars are expecting a grandchild – if you haven’t heard about them, here’s their story.  I watched an interview with the family today and at the end, Meredith Veira asked Jim Bob and Michelle Duggar what parenting advice they would give their son and his wife and their first response was to bring up your children teaching them to love God with all their hearts.  I was so impressed that they spoke so boldly for Christ and that they stressed the importance of this one thing in parenting.  No matter what we do wrong with our kids, if we teach them this one thing, it will have been worth it to see them grow up knowing that God loves them and they ought to love Him as well with all they have.

As I said before, we had a great Easter weekend – we ate meals at Mike’s parents Friday, Saturday and Sunday and I’d be amazed if I didn’t put on a pound or two from all the good stuff we ate.  We had our fair share of issues over there, as it’s not quite as kid friendly as our house and Elias doesn’t seem to get that he can’t touch certain things.  But all in all, it was fun and relaxing (the hot tub doesn’t hurt in that department).  I’m going to have a bit of trouble getting back in the swing of things at home, particularly having to cook meals again after getting a three day break.  Speaking of which, I should probably start planning for supper tonight before I break down and go out to eat.

This verse of the day comes from VOTD.

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith, Holidays, Home Sweet Home

Leave a Reply

