Day 13: Matthew 28:18-20

For a reminder of what I am doing this month, read this post

Matthew 28:18-20

“All authority has been given to Me in heaven and on earth. Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all things that I have commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.”

This portion of Scripture is known as The Great Commission – Jesus was speaking to His disciples, but He was also speaking to us.  As a stay-at-home mom, it is easy to think that I am exempt from this command, but I must face the fact that it applies to me as much as it applies to my husband, my single friends, missionaries, etc.  Whether I am reaching out to my neighbours, people in the grocery store or only my own kids, I am following this command. 

I think the key to obedience in this area is a willingness to do whatever God asks you to do.  For some, it means uprooting, moving to other countries, sometimes dangerous ones, and preaching the Gospel there.  For others, it means inviting a non-believer over for coffee and sharing your faith.  For me, it means stepping out of my comfort zone now and again to do things that I don’t feel good at.  I’ve never felt like a reaper – the person who actually leads someone to Christ – but there have been times in my life when I’ve had to share with someone.  I usually feel more like a planter or waterer, and I think there’s nothing wrong with this, as it takes all kinds to build the Kingdom.  I find myself more often stirring the pot in people, furthering their knowledge or experience with Christianity.  This often means just talking about my life without excluding God.  Not shying away from mentioning church, Bible study, ministry and what they mean to me. 

The great thing here is that no matter where we go or what we do in response to these verses, we have Christ’s promise at the end of verse twenty – He is with us always.  He will not leave us or forsake us, in the middle of the mundane or in the middle of persecution.  When we sing “Jesus Loves Me” to our babies, invite a friend to church, share the gospel with a hurting person, or are faced with trials due to our faith, He is with us.

This verse of the day comes from VOTD.

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith

Leave a Reply

