Day 14: Romans 5:6-8

For a reminder of what I am doing this month, read this post

Romans 5:6-8

For when we were still without strength, in due time Christ died for the ungodly.

For scarcely for a righteous man will one die; yet perhaps for a good man someone would even dare to die.

But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

There are many places in the Bible where we are reminded of God’s love for us, and many of the verses I have written about have touched on it.  This verse is another one of those verses.  Christ did not wait for us to surrender to Him before He died – He did it willingly before we made a choice to follow Him, when we were still wallowing in our sin nature.  Literally, Christ died thousands of years ago, but when He did, He made the sacrifice for all of us.  For those in His time who were still living in sin, for those who saw His death and resurrection and still chose not to believe – He died for each of them as well as us. 

The first part of this verse shows us how truly low we were when Christ died for us – we were not righteous or even good – and even for righteous and good men, very rarely would someone die, and yet He died for us when we were like dirt. 

When I was married, I committed to Mike that I would remain faithful to him alone and stay with him through thick and thin.  If either of us had said to the other, “No, I’d rather not be faithful to you.  I want to do my own thing and have my own way,”  do you think that we would have gotten married?  No, because we generally do not commit to someone who will not commit to us.  Christ “committed” to us, giving us salvation even when we were turning our backs on Him, and that is the greatest sacrifice. 

What do we do with this knowledge?  Be thankful and pass it on.  Obviously we cannot die for anyone’s that has already been done and is not something we could do in the first place, but we can practice unconditional love.  To our spouses, when they do things we don’t like, to our kids, when they disobey and rebel.  I hope my children never rebel against me, but if it should happen, the best thing I can do is love them as Christ loved us – unconditionally.

This verse of the day comes from VOTD.

An unrelated update: I saw a doctor today about a tonsillectomy and it looks as though it may happen in June.  I am having my wisdom teeth out on June 20th, so really, if I could recover from that and then get the tonsils out, it would seem best, as recovery from a tonsillectomy is pretty bad.  This is good news, but it still makes me nervous.  It will be worth it, though, to live free of tonsillitis.

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith, Illness and Injury

Leave a Reply

