Day 16: John 12:12-13

For a reminder of what I am doing this month, read this post.

John 12:12-13

Praise God! Bless the one who comes in the name of the Lord! Hail to the King of Israel!

These verses have the most meaning when we think of doing as they say – praising God.  We can pass right over them as dialogue in the Bible, but what would life be like if we really were praising God, blessing Jesus name, hailing the King? 

Have you ever tried playing only worship music for awhile?  I am really not a fan of it playing all the time – I like to mix it up a bit with other types of music, but really, taking a day or two and listening to nothing but worship music is truly uplifting.  And it is uplifting because as I sing along to words I am familiar with, their meaning starts to filter through and I can really worship God.  The beauty of it is that I can worship while I sweep the floor, change diapers, make supper, fold laundry, etc. 

But more important than praising God with another person’s music and words, I believe, is praising God with our own words, thanking Him for what He’s done for us personally.  Our own words can best express our love for Him.  When we constantly depend on the words of others, we are limiting our praise.  So once you’ve got the hang of worshipping while you do things around the house – or while you’re in your car – try making up your own words.  Thank God for blessings in your life that are unique – your kids, your spouse, His provision, etc. 

I’m doing better today, praise the Lord!  I am not totally at peace, but have had encouragement from a friend that was much needed and I understand that truth is truth (those are her words) and that it is important that people know the truth.  I don’t know what that will look like for me, but I feel that maybe there is purpose in the pain I felt yesterday because it has awoken something I was trying to keep down for the sake of being meek and mild.  There is room for that at times, but sometimes it is far better to emulate Jesus as He was in the temple – in righteous anger.  And no, I’m not about to go raging through Christian bookstores knocking down tables. 🙂

This verse of the day comes from Air1.

1 Comment

Filed under Faith

One response to “Day 16: John 12:12-13

  1. Tara Lokstet

    I have had the verse about “putting on the garment of praise for the spirit of heaviness” in my mind lately. I never really fully thought about what this meant but in the last few months it has stuck with me. It looks like that’s what your day was about:)

Leave a Reply

