Day 17: Ephesians 4:21-24

For a reminder of what I am doing this month, read this post.

Ephesians 4:21-24

…if indeed you have heard Him [Jesus] and have been taught by Him, as the truth is in Jesus…put off, concerning your former conduct, the old man which grows corrupt according to the deceitful lusts, and be renewed in the spirit of your mind, and that you put on the new man which was created according to God, in true righteousness and holiness.

Putting off the old man is a hard thing to do – and it takes a lifetime.  This “renewal of the mind” is a very important part of this process.  In order to renew your body, you may do all sorts of things.  Many people simply go to a spa when they need to feel this renewal.  Whether it is through massage, cosmetic treatments, rest and relaxation, fitness or diet, spa treatments are intended renew your body.  Mind renewal is not this simple.  We cannot lay back and let someone else do all the work.  While the Holy Spirit will help us with this process, we have to put in some effort as well.  One of my favourite verses to remember when I am working on this renewal is 2 Corinthians 10:5

“We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.” 

This idea of taking every thought captive and making it obedient to Christ is so amazing to me.  When thoughts enter my head that are more befitting of the old me, I can imagine a cage dropping down around them, or a lasso catching them (yes, I know this is silly imagery, but I just can’t help it!).  I can then imagine laying them at Jesus’ feet.  It is incredible how it works to change my train of thought from negative or sinful to positive and Christ-centered. 

I am in no way saying that this method works all the time or that it is the only thing I need to be renewing my mind daily.  It requires daily time in prayer and reading the Bible.  I can honestly say that I am not always disciplined at this part.  It is part of the old man – the laziness and complacency that keeps me from digging deeper in my relationship with Him.  In order to renew my mind, I must put in this effort. 

When I put in the effort, I am “putting on the new man”.  What a thought – that I could be changed so much that I would be a new person.  Changed enough that I would cease my complaining about life, stop letting people get to me when they don’t agree with me, stop looking to material things for satisfaction, and begin living with Christ at the centre of everything I do. 

I have high hopes that someday I will be living as the new man (woman :)) far closer to 100% of the time than I am now.  I know that the only way I can get there is by daily putting the old man to death.  Daily catching those thoughts and making them obedient to Christ. 

I have life stuff to write about, but for now, I just want to get to bed.  Hopefully I’ll get to writing sooner tomorrow.  I will say that I got exciting news this past weekend – my dad is getting married!  Yay, Daddy!!

This verse of the day comes from VOTD.

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith

Leave a Reply

