Day 24: Psalm 37:16

 

For a reminder of what I’m doing this month, read this post.

Psalm 37:16

A little that a righteous man has
Is better than the riches of many wicked.

There are many times when I think that money would be the answer to every little hiccup in my life, that it would erase my worries and make me perfectly happy. I could have exactly the house I wanted, could afford to go on vacations every year, pay someone to clean my house (and you have to know that would be my favourite part). But then I remember thinking in the past when we’ve had an increase in income that life would be perfect from there on (or at least a bit closer to perfect), and yet we always end up living more or less the same way. This verse is a great reminder that we should be happy with what we have, even if it is very little. It is perhaps easier to fill your life with God when you do not have much materially, whereas with an abundance of money, anything can be bought – time can be filled up with every earthly pleasure.

At the moment, my great desire is a larger house. We live with three small but growing children in a two bedroom, one bathroom home that is around 800 square feet total. I know that God has plans for us and it is best to wait for His timing in this area of my life, but at times, I wish we would somehow acquire enough money to move sooner rather than later. I have to remember that to be righteous, I must seek after what God wants in my life, and not what I want. And when I am looking to Him to satisfy our needs and desires, I find that I am happier with the little that we have. I would rather have righteousness and very little than many riches and a dark and sinful life.

 

This verse of the day comes from VOTD.

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith, Money

Leave a Reply

