Day 27: Psalm 31:23-24

For a reminder of what I’m doing this month, read this post.

Psalm 31:23-24

Oh, love the LORD, all you His saints!

For the LORD preserves the faithful, And fully repays the proud person.

Be of good courage, And He shall strengthen your heart, All you who hope in the LORD.

I was at first a bit confused about the “repaying the proud” part, but when I looked this verse up in another translation, it says “but” will repay the proud.  This tells me that this repayment is not a reward, but a discipline.

I like the thought of being preserved and having my heart strengthened.  It is comforting thinking of God doing these things for me, because it’s not an easy thing to do on my own.  So many people spend money on preservation of their physical bodies and spend no time on preservation of their souls.  What a great blessing it is that God will preserve us and protect us.  As for the final verse, if we are courageous, he will strengthen our hearts.  I believe that this means we are to have courage as we follow Him where He leads us and as we share His love with others.  I have seen people leave everything to go into the mission field, at times to dangerous locations, and have watched their courage with envy.  What would I do and how would I feel if I was called in this way?  Would I have courage?  It is good to know then that God is with me always, strengthening my heart, whether I am home sharing Christ with my next door neighbour or if I am in a foreign land. 

It probably seems that I haven’t said a word about real life for some time, so I’ll give you quick update.  I hosted a craft day at our church on Saturday and was amazed at all that I got done!  I painted and made cards and envelopes and did some decoupage.  We had about sixteen people come and do a number of different crafts/hobbies.  One older lady brought a puzzle and she worked on it with a few other women for a few hours.  I was so pleased with the outcome of the day that I think we’ll do it more often.  I’m not sure if it will be a good idea to do one over the summer, but I’d like to see it happen every other month starting in September. 

As for my health, I’m healthy at the moment, but we’ve all had colds.  As far as I know, swine flu (ahem, influenza A (h1n1) :)) hasn’t come up as far as Fort St. John, yet, but if it does, I’m not feeling incredibly worried.  My kids are all having lots of fun with the weather being warm – they would probably spend every day outside if they could.  It’s still a bit chilly in the mornings, but by afternoon, it’s been warming up very nicely.  Spring is here at last!!

I’ll be  finishing the verse-a-day posts on Thursday and then will return to the regular scheduled program of yammering on about my life. 🙂

This verse comes from VOTD.

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith, Life, in general

Leave a Reply

