Day 29: James 1:23-25

For a reminder of what I’m doing this month, read this post.

James 1:23-25

For if anyone is a hearer of the word and not a doer, he is like a man observing his natural face in a mirror; for he observes himself, goes away, and immediately forgets what kind of man he was.

But he who looks into the perfect law of liberty and continues in it, and is not a forgetful hearer but a doer of the work, this one will be blessed in what he does.

Today’s verses are a continuation from yesterday, so if you haven’t read yesterdays post, read it first.

I’ve always liked this explanation of what it means to be a “hearer of the Word, but not a doer”.  Another similar situation is when I tell my kids to do something and they promptly go off to do something else.  I know that they hear me – I usually get confirmation of that by asking them if they understand – but they choose to let my words go in one ear and out the other so that they can do other things.  When they do this, they get in trouble.  It is the same with us and God’s Word.

When we read the Bible without really processing it and putting it into practice, we both miss and ignore important instructions within it.  I’ve been guilty of doing this many times in my life.  I often read the Bible just to get through it – skimming through chapter after chapter and then realizing afterward that I could hardly even remember what I had read.  This type of reading does me no good (unless I’m just trying to fill time). 

If we take the time to read and process God’s Word, we will be blessed.  Sometimes this means focusing only on one or two verses, much as I’ve been doing for the last month here.  At other times, it means taking courses or going through Bible studies that help us to process and put things into action.  It is wonderful to have the promise of blessing when we are doers of the Word, and we should make every effort to dig into the Bible and really learn from it and live it.

This verse of the day comes from VOTD.

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith

Leave a Reply

