And then the walls came down

After feeling pity for myself and shedding a few tears over my bad day, I got a phone call to put it all in perspective.  My sister-in-law, who is due July 7th with her second baby, was taken out of town in an ambulance to be induced after being in the hospital here overnight with high blood pressure.  The baby is small, the placenta looks bad and I am terrified that something is going to happen to her or the baby.  I have such love for her and that baby and her thirteen month old son.  Our nephew was small – 5 lb 8 oz – and only two days early, so it seems this baby could be even smaller.

At the heart of my fears, right next to my worst one, which would be something happening to her or the baby, is another one – that regardless of what happens, things are going to get worse for me.  That my situation will be ignored by everyone who knows her, and especially by Mike’s family.  It is terribly selfish and an awful thing to feel, I’m sure, but I can’t help it.  I am desperate for my own family right now.  For parents or siblings who love me.  For aunts or uncles or cousins who would offer help.  But they are all so far away and can’t do a thing for me right now except pray.  I guess the best I can do is to ask them to do that much, for me and especially for Mike’s sister.

So I’ll ask you as well (whoever you may be) to pray for our family – for Mike’s sister and her unborn baby, for her husband and their son and for Mike, Jenny, Elias, Erik and me.  And pray that this would all serve to prove God’s power and purpose in our lives.

1 Comment

Filed under Faith, Illness and Injury, Mi familia

One response to “And then the walls came down

  1. Carly

    You guys are all in my prayers. We found out just a bit ago and I’ll be praying for you too.

Leave a Reply

