Update – good news!

Well, I spent a good deal of time praying, worrying, and cleaning (yeah, I know…it was nice to stay busy) last night, and Mike and I stayed up playing Scrabble because I just couldn’t go to bed without any news.  I feared the worst for hours because we weren’t hearing anything about the situation.  Finally sometime close to midnight, Mike’s mom called and said that everything is okay.  We have another nephew and he is TINY!  4 lbs 11 oz and 17 in. long!  Being two and a half weeks early obviously has something to do with this, as his older brother was only two days early but weighed 5 lbs 8 oz.

The irony is that the crisis got me to clean my bedroom – it’s not done, but I made great progress last night while I was waiting for news.  I thought it we went to bed I wouldn’t be able to sleep.  Then after we had gotten the good news and finished our game, I couldn’t fall asleep.  I told myself that since the kids had been sleeping in until nine or nine-thirty the last few days, it wasn’t so bad – even if it was after two when I fell asleep, they’d sleep late and I could get seven hours of sleep at least.  Well, I was awake before eight and couldn’t go back to sleep – thinking about that new baby, of course.  They’re not here in town, but forty minutes away, so I was trying to determine how I might be able to see them while they are still in the hospital.  And…trying to figure out what to do about my midday appointment today.  It’s a pre-anaesthetic clinic and takes about an hour.  The original plan was to have Mike stay with the kids through his lunch break and then have my neighbour come over when he had to go back to work.  Now he’s working at the gravel pit for the day, which means he won’t be coming home for lunch at all.  So I have to do some thinking and calling around to figure something out.

Add to all this my own personal stress, swollen face and pained jaw and I seriously need a vacation.

3 Comments

Filed under Illness and Injury, Mi familia, The H Word

3 responses to “Update – good news!

  1. Carly

    I’m so happy Alaina and him are safe! We were praying last night. Praise the Lord. He is so faithful and great. Does he have a name yet? I know it takes them a while lol.

    • Katie

      Yes, his name is Noah Brandon (I’m just guessing that’s the spelling of Brandon…but I’m not entirely sure). I love his name!

  2. Carly

    What an awesome name! 2 little boys now. She’s going to have fun when they get a little older!

Leave a Reply

