Happy pills

I do not wish to make light of drug abuse or addiction -they are real problems and quite frightening.  However…

I love my pain pills!  I will just be honest and say that I’m not sure I could function without them right now.  Yes, they make me silly and drowsy, but when they’re in full effect, I hardly have any pain in my throat.  And when I have no medication coursing through my veins, I’m pretty miserable.  Like – I avoid swallowing my saliva for as long as possible because it hurts so much.  The downside of having a narcotic in my system is that I’m not much use to anyone else.  Keeping this in mind, Mike’s grandma is coming over tomorrow to help me with the kids.  If I didn’t take anything, I could manage keeping a level head with them, but I’d be in too much pain.  If I take something to relieve the pain, I can hardly walk a straight line.  With any luck, this will be a whole lot better in a few days.

And I promise – as soon as I’m not in agony, I’ll come off the happy pills.  I’ll actually be quite pleased to get back to normal life where antibiotics and pain medications are a thing of the past.

2 Comments

Filed under Illness and Injury

2 responses to “Happy pills

  1. LOL! I can’t judge you at all. I had an infection after I had our first daughter. I was in some of the worst pain of my life.

    That was until my vicodin would kick in, of course:) I liked it. I liked it alot!

    However, thanks be to God, I did stop taking it once the pain began to be manageable. I was useless while on it!

    Hope you get better soon!

    • Katie

      I had an infection after I had Jenny, too – my stitches got infected. They never gave me anything for pain. It sucked.

Leave a Reply

