Another year gone

Yesterday was my twenty-sixth birthday.  I had a pancake in the morning, lasagna for lunch and a really wonderful meal for supper.  My husband bought me a jigsaw for my birthday.  Yeah, a saw, not a puzzle.  I’ve been saying I want one for awhile now – he’s becoming a better listener all the time.  I had a long nap in the afternoon and went to bed before midnight.

My meal in the evening was too good to not write about.  We went to The Uptown Grill, which is our “never bring the kids” date restaurant.  They use local products at least some of the time, seasonal produce all of the time and have a changing menu for each season.  They also have a different theme each day – Mexican Mondays, Thai Tuesdays, Indian Wednesdays, Caribbean Thursdays and Surf and Turf Fridays.  Those menus have one item per course – an appetizer, soup and entree as well as a drink special.

I started with sweet potato fries with chipotle aioli from the fall menu – I cannot resist trying sweet potato fries (or yam fries, as most of them actually are) whenever they are new on a menu.  They were good – crisp with a thin batter on them, but the aioli was not as good or spicy as I’ve had before.  I ordered soup with my meal and again chose from the fall menu.  It was wild mushroom and leek soup, and while it had the fatty feel of mushroom soup, the leeks gave it a very nice flavour that mushroom soup doesn’t usually have.  It was so satisfying that I wished later I had just had the soup to start and skipped the fries.  I was pretty satisfied after the soup but still had an entree to at least start on.  I ordered the black bean and corn enchiladas, which I have had before and which are not really anything like authentic enchiladas.  They are amazing, though – made with corn tortillas, cilantro cream cheese filling and black bean and corn throughout, topped with lettuce, tomato and pickled red onions.  I think I managed about four bites of that and decided I’d better quit.  But then Mike asked whether they did anything for birthdays.  They do the traditional free dessert and I couldn’t resist.  I went with the Italian tartufo – espresso ice cream rolled in nuts and toffee bits, served with chocolate and caramel sauce and whipped cream.  Ahhh, what a dessert.  I didn’t get even close to finishing it, but it sure was good while it lasted.  My pregnant stomach manages to fit a bit more than normal, but there’s always a point when one must stop, no matter how good it tastes.  The sad thing is that I was hungry again within an hour and a half.  I had a few cookies and some milk at home before bed. 

It was a good birthday and I’ll still get to celebrate a bit more this weekend with the family.  I did wake up yesterday morning with a nasty head cold, but thankfully, it didn’t manage to drag me down much. 

On Monday night I took Jenny to emergency because she had been breathing fast all afternoon and evening – she has a chest infection and needs antibiotics and an inhaler – but they let us go home and she’s better already.  I was thinking then that I just couldn’t handle it if they made us stay overnight or something.  We had a late night, but at least got to sleep in our own beds.

Anyway, there is another year gone, and time just seems to keep going faster.  At the moment, I wish it would speed up a little bit so I can get past the stomach issues of early pregnancy, but thankfully things seem to be getting better.

1 Comment

Filed under Happiness, Holidays

One response to “Another year gone

  1. Happy Belated b-day! Sounds like you had a great time!

Leave a Reply

