Where to start?

I miss the old days – when words just floated through my fingers into the keyboard and extreme fatigue or nausea didn’t place a block in my head.  But I have to re-start somewhere as I’m not about to give up.  I’m getting a netbook soon and I’m planning great things with it – like spending one evening a week catching up on my writing – so I’m not going to quit blogging just yet.

Anyway, here is a recap of this past week (post-birthday entry).

Jenny got over her infection quickly, thank heavens, but all the kids are still a bit runny nosed.  Erik was in the ER on Friday night because his breathing was so wheezy and I didn’t really feel like leaving it alone was in his best interest.  He just now finished up a four day course of prednisone.  He’s still coughing up a storm and I’m a little bit concerned that he might need antibiotics to get rid of it.

Friday after the hospital, I went to watch Mike play hockey with his dad.  I don’t know who won.  I spent the majority of the time taking Elias to the bathroom.  I’m seriously thinking that he likes the bathrooms in the new arena so much that he’s peeing his pants just so we have to go there.  The third time I took him, we stayed there for nearly fifteen minutes, drying his pants and underwear under the automatic dryers.  Jenny kept saying she had to go again while we were there – I think this is because she really likes the sink and wanted an excuse to wash her hands one more time .  My kids are so weird sometimes.  The big perk to Friday night and that ER visit is that Mike set it up for the kids to spend the night at his parents’ house, since he was playing hockey and we didn’t know whether I would be going home or not.  They left the game a bit early and I just had Erik for the rest of the night.

We had a lazy start on Saturday, mostly because of our late night on Friday and the fact that this was the first Saturday that Mike has had off for about a month.  I honestly cannot remember much about the day, except that it was fairly surreal having only one child to deal with.  We headed over to Mike’s parents’ house around eleven and played games and napped for most of the afternoon (read: Mike played games, I napped).  We had a nice Mennonite meal for supper – corn, Farmer’s Sausage (don’t ask – I have no idea what to compare it to because I’ve never eaten it…it smells good cooking, anyway), homemade noodles and tilapia.  Okay, so the tilapia was mostly for me and not really Mennonite at all.  In fact, being blackened cajun tilapia, it was pretty much the total opposite of Mennonite food.  Mike had yet another game on Saturday night, this time with his rec. team and I decided to go because we were already out anyway.  Once again, I don’t know who won.  I spent most of that game telling my children not to play with the caution tape strung all over the arena and feeling frustrated that one woman there was letting her grandson do whatever he wanted with it.  And also, talking to my sister-in-law and her sister-in-law.  I haven’t had much time to talk to Marcy lately and it was a real treat.  She has the baby bug pretty bad so she’s enjoying our kids and my pregnancy and hoping to have a few more next year.

Sunday came too early as we had decided to go to the early service.  We did this because our Thanksgiving meal was set for 3:30 that afternoon.  Second service gets out after noon most weeks, which would give us about forty-five minutes to go shopping for salad fixings (since that was my offering to the meal), have lunch and get the kids home and to bed for a nap.  We decided that although we would inevitably be very tired in the morning, we would force ourselves to get up and get to church by 9:15.  Church was over by 10:30 and we headed out to get everything done.  The great thing is that the kids were down, I had the salad more or less ready to go and we were able to have a nap, too. 

Thanksgiving dinner went very well and we celebrated my birthday afterward.  Again, I can’t remember much except that my sister-in-law is making me a nice crocheted toque (a hat, Americans :)) and Mike’s parents gave me a nice bit of money to add to my computer fund.  We left in time to get home and put the kids to bed in a hurry before Mike went to yet another hockey game – this time a church game.  Three hockey games with three different teams in three days – yes, that’s my life.  This time I stayed home (obviously, since I didn’t feel that leaving the kids home alone was a good idea) and was determined to be productive.  I sat at the computer for at least forty-five minutes and suddenly started feeling sick to my stomach.  It got worse over the next hour and I wondered whether I should stick to the plan or avoid any work.  I finally decided that I would feel sick whether I folded laundry or swept the floor or laid on the couch reading.  I swept under the table (I think my kids think we have a dog – they leave plenty to eat for him under there…come to think of it, having a dog would make my job easier at times).  I noticed while I was sweeping that the walls were coloured on, spilled on, and scuffed up and decided that while I was at it, I should wash them.  So, totally against my nature, I grabbed a bucket and some towels and started scrubbing.  With the aid of a Magic Eraser (I love those things!), I got it looking much better.  They are still in sore need of a coat of paint, but at least now if I feel like painting, the walls will be clean.

I finished up the evening by folding about four loads of laundry and getting another two or three going.  In between the cleaning, I threw up a few times.  It never did make me feel better.

On Monday we managed to sleep in until nine and then Mike got up with the kids and fed them and entertained them until after eleven, when I finally got up.  The strangest thing is that with how sick I was on Sunday night, I expected to feel bad when I woke up.  I felt totally normal on Monday morning – go figure!  When we finally were up and dressed and fed, we went back to Mike’s parents’.  My sister-in-law from out of town had wanted to play a particular game all weekend and Mike and his dad finally played it with her that afternoon, just before she and her husband had to head home.  I played another game with my mother-in-law and brother-in-law while the kids napped (or rather, while they messed around and got into trouble about six times for not napping).

After more food, more dessert and a few more games, we went home and had supper.  I talked to my brother after not talking to him for a few months and Mike slept a bit while the kids were watching a movie.  This was also when Elias decided to somehow get the disk drive stuck open.  We really can’t figure it out and will probably be taking it somewhere to get it fixed.  Mike rented a movie that we didn’t like very much and we stayed up later than we should have.  Nothing new there, anyway.

This morning at around seven, I woke up to hear Jenny yelling, “Oh, my! Oh, my!  Oh, my!”  I ran in and she said something about her “breathe” and that she was going to throw up.  I rushed her into the bathroom and..nothing.  I figured taking her back to my room would be smarter than sending her back to bed, just in case the puking really did happen at some point.  It turned out to be a very good decision – although my sheets are now in the wash and my garbage can has vomit in it.  After throwing up, we both went back to sleep and slept until after nine when the boys woke up.  I’m now assuming that whatever was wrong with me on Sunday night is what was wrong with Jenny this morning, as she seems just fine now.  I guess it’s just a really short-lived bug.

Anyway, I should probably be having a nap right now, but like I said, you have to start somewhere and now seemed like a good time for it.  And anyway, I can always go to bed early tonight.  Oh, right, Mike has another hockey game.  Sigh.

Leave a comment

Filed under Holidays, Illness and Injury, Kiddos, Life, in general, Mi familia

Leave a Reply

