And then I started itching. And coughing.

Pregnancy woes…this one has been full of them.  Good thing I haven’t been plagued by crazy amounts of Braxton Hicks contractions so far.

Last week I started coughing – along with Mike and the kids.  Then I started itching.  I think that was the order they came in.  But the itching was a way bigger deal until today.  It just attacks me out of nowhere – awful itching all over my back, legs, arms, feet, hands, scalp…yuck.  My first thought was that my liver wasn’t doing so good, but after a blood test this morning, it is clear that’s not why.  So now I have no explanation for all this itching..just some Benadryl.  What took me to get a bloodtest was actually a sudden inability to breathe properly.  All last night I’d wake up and try to breathe deep and it would  hurt so bad.  Then this morning my respirations were way up.  Mike took me to emergency but it’s just a virus.  So it’s Benadryl and cough medicine.  And tylenol if the chest pain is really bugging me.  Oh, and 2,000 mg of vitamin C every day.

I am so ready to not be pregnant.  Eight more weeks…okay, I’ll say ten just because that’s as long as it could be.  Ten more weeks.  Ugh.

4 Comments

Filed under Illness and Injury, Nine Months

4 responses to “And then I started itching. And coughing.

  1. Carly

    So it’s fine to take Benedryl and Tylonel when you’re pregnant? I guess you probably checked with your Dr first though. I hope things get better for you. I’ll be praying. Just think – about the time your baby comes you also get to see me! haha

    • Katie

      Yay, two things to look forward to! Oh, and summer. 😀
      Yeah, the doctor in the hospital said I could take them – he actually told me to take Tylenol. Tylenol is known to be safe, although there are studies that may show a link between Tylenol use in pregnancy and childhood asthma. I only take it when I’m desperate. I took two at the hospital but I haven’t felt it was necessary since then. The pharmacist double checked the Benadryl for me and said it’s safe. Antihistimines are actually worse when you’re breastfeeding – they can decrease milk supply.

  2. Ouch!

    Can you believe you’re already at the end of this pregnancy! Wow! Is it safe to assume you are planning on a natural birth this time?

    I hope you feel better soon. Rest.

    • Katie

      Oh, definitely safe to assume that!! I’m so looking forward to topping Erik’s birth. 🙂 Not sure if that’s possible, but I’m going to try it. I’m slowly reading Supernatural Childbirth and hoping to have some scriptures to meditate on during labour. I was happy with his birth but there are a few things I will do differently if I have a chance to.
      I know this is the end, but eight (or more) weeks feels like a long time still. The kids are really itching for better weather and that’s wearing on us. We just got new snow this morning, if you can believe that! It won’t last but it’s a little bit depressing.

Leave a Reply

