Big deep breath

Today Elias turned four. 

Tomorrow would be Jenny’s first day of kindergarten.  If I were sending her to public school, anyway.

The big deep breath is needed because tomorrow I become teacher. 

This year will be an experiment in homeschooling.  That doesn’t mean that I don’t intend to continue after this year – I intend to homeschool all my children through middle school and give them the option of public high school when they get there.  But this is year one.  I will have to learn what kind of teacher I will be and what kind of student my daughter will be. 

We will not be using set curriculum this year.  It is, after all, kindergarten.  I have goals for this year to keep Jenny on track or just slightly ahead of her public school friends: recognition of letters, counting past 20 (she’s struggling with that for some reason), knowing letter sounds.  It would be fantastic if we could get her reading by the end of the year, but I’m not counting on it.  She is a challenge to teach already so we’ll have to work out the kinks between now and next year.  At some point, I will probably do distance learning for my kids so that they have a teacher they can communicate via email and I can focus on the younger grades. 

Anyway, that’s that.  I’ll try to post now and again about how things are going.  Jenny is very excited about school but has also expressed a desire to have a “class” like kids in movies.  I don’t think this will be a problem now but I will have to make sure to engage her in learning so that the lack of other students doesn’t bother her.

1 Comment

Filed under Home School, Kiddos, Life, in general

One response to “Big deep breath

  1. Carol

    I started today with virtual school for Andrew.. DEEP BREATHE here too!! Our take on home based learning was that the farther along he got in public school, the more he was exposed to things we weren’t comfortable with him being exposed to as Christian parents. We figure that if he’s going to be exposed, it’s going to be at our doing via education & discussion.. of long term affects & what the Bible says about such things… and at looking at real life scenarios.. ie; people we know, the current news (celebrity & otherwise) etc.. Of course it’s all a matter of what parents are comfortable with for each indiviual child & family… for us, I couldn’t see myself trying to teach the basics… for me, it was easier to build on top of that than to start from scratch 🙂 but that’s me 😉
    Also… the fact that I’ve home schooled before & have seen how well Andrew does.. testing higher than his peers… the last 3 years in public school & now he’s failing… due to a cocky attitude about it & he’s a goofball…
    Anyway, all of that to say, you’ll find your groove, figure out what works & what doesn’t & as long as you’re doing what’s best for you & yours… you’ll be fine! and so will the kids 😉

Leave a Reply

