Mastitis sucks (no pun intended)

I currently have the worst case of mastitis I’ve ever had.  I’m sure of it.  I’ve had it about thirteen times between all four kids, but this is only the second time with Ben.  It came on overnight,  hitting me at about three or four in the morning on Monday.  Chills, high fever, body aches, weakness and one very sore breast.  Usually when I get it, I get some warning – I just get sore one day and some redness and I can go into the doctor and get on antibiotics quickly.  This time I had no warning at all.  I’m feeling a little bit better today – no fever or chills – but still not great.  If you read my other blog, you will have read most of this already..but I haven’t posted here lately.

On Sunday we had a surprise party for Mike’s Grandma’s 75th birthday.  She was genuinely surprised to find 37 out of 42 family members present.  Two of her kids and their wives couldn’t make it and one granddaughter, but otherwise, we were all there.  That included 12 great-grandchildren – all 5 1/2 and under (Jenny is the oldest and Ben is the youngest so far).  What a fun time!  I only wish we could have had a whole weekend to hang out together.  I had never met a few of the kids and hadn’t seen some of the cousins in years.  Of course, they’re Mike’s cousins, but I’ve always gotten along really well with his family.

After such a fun weekend (Saturday I got my hair cut, cut Mike, Elias and Erik’s hair, went to a Christmas party without any kids…it was a good day), I was hoping for a fun week, too, getting ready for Christmas.  This is definitely not the start I was hoping for.  The good news is that I have already gotten four doses of antibiotics into my system, so with any luck, I’ll get better today.  If I don’t feel much better by this afternoon, I’ll have to go into the hospital for IV antibiotics.  And that would really suck. 😦

3 Comments

Filed under Illness and Injury

3 responses to “Mastitis sucks (no pun intended)

  1. I had a HORRIBLE case of it with my first. I had no idea what it was, and just kept putting it off. My body decided to take things into it’s own hands and it actually made a pencil eraser size hole open in my breast to let the infection out. Went in for my 6 week check up with it still oozing and they ALMOST put me in the hospital. Fortunately I responded to the antibotics and they gave me some pain meds to help with the pain. I’ve got some scaring but otherwise it’s all better (that was 3.5 years ago) Good Luck with yours!

  2. Katie

    Wow..that would freak me right out! The first time I had it I waited just a few days and could barely stand up straight by the time I made it to the doctor. That was sometime in the first month after my first baby. After that, I knew what to look for and always went in as soon as possible, sometimes going to Emergency over the weekend to get antibiotics started ASAP. Thankfully doctors seem to be very understanding about it.

  3. LaSandra

    Oh no! Not right before Christmas! I hope you feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

