My kids are awesome

Yeah, they’re cool. People like them. I like them. A lot.

Ben had some frozen blueberries today in a little mesh feeder (that sounds weird, doesn’t it?).  Blueberries are messy. Ben is cute, even when covered in blue juice. Especially when covered in blue juice? 🙂

I tried to get a good picture of the oldest three at the table tonight. They were posed nicely, looking at the camera, when Erik got thirsty. Slurp, inhale, spill, cry. Comedic photograph as opposed to nice sibling love photograph. Even better!

Mike’s away for a few days for work so I’m hanging out by myself with the kiddos. I made a good meal tonight that he would not have liked but the kids and I loved, and I watched a chick flick that he most certainly would not have wanted to watch. Pat myself on the back for staying busy and trying to have a good time even though I hate being left alone.

Yesterday’s post was fun..and has me thinking more on number eleven  (if you didn’t read the list yesterday, check it out). I want opinions, people! Is it weird if a mother of four young children buys used dolls and paints/pierces them? Dresses them in strange things? Cuts off half of their hair? Tries to make a business out of it? It’s an art form I really and truly enjoyed when I was younger and even if I did some weird stuff back then, it would be a bit more tame now (no fake blood, for example). I just love the process of seeing them become something entirely different from what they began as. And I get the feeling that there are people out there who would pay money for them. For example, this doll is for sale on Etsy right now and the shop owner has had twenty-six sales of similar dolls. Some of the stuff I found on Etsy in this category is downright creepy, and I can promise that I won’t be doing demons or dead babies or anything along those lines. Ew. But still, it’s a thought.

Anyway, I told myself I’d go to bed early every night this week. Apparently tonight is going to be the exception (let’s hope). I need sleep! Ben doesn’t sleep well, but I could make things better by simply going to bed earlier. So that’s what I’m going to attempt for a few days while it’s just me calling the shots. And that’s what I’m going to do right now: go to bed. Night, world!

6 Comments

Filed under Art, Kiddos, Photographs

6 responses to “My kids are awesome

  1. ChapmansRus

    Go for it!! I want one! 🙂
    And yes, your kids are awesome & I’ve never even met them! 🙂

  2. Rigel

    I. Want. One. Of. Your. Dolls.

    😉

  3. Bridget

    I think you should go for it. Finding something you enjoy and go for it =) I love the pictures of your kids. They are beautiful!! Keep blogging

  4. vanessa

    Do it! I would love to see one of your masterpieces.
    I was wondering if it’s really gross cleaning one of those mesh food holders that Ben is using , I have been tempted to try one out for Lex.

    • Katie

      No, it’s not bad. I just put it in the dishwasher after I get the bigger chunks out. It’s SO handy, too.

Leave a Reply

