Food for Thought

Wow, am I clever or what? “Food” for Thought? Yeah, I’m going to talk about food. I have got to be the first person to do this, right? 😀

For the last few days, I’ve been thinking about this post. The one about kids and food. About what we feed our children, what we assume they will like, how we pass our food likes and dislikes on to them without even meaning to. It was going to just be a Facebook status, but then I thought about all the (inevitable) negative feedback I’d get. So I’ll keep it here and expound on it. If there’ s negative feedback..well, I can delete it if I feel like it, can’t I? (More on that subject later)

Anyway, here’s a piece of advice: do not assume that your kids won’t like something. Just because you don’t like it, or your spouse doesn’t like it, or other kids don’t like it, does not mean your own children won’t enjoy eating it. I don’t care what it is. Do not make this assumption.

I hear all the time how picky kids are, how they won’t eat anything but macaroni and cheese or chicken nuggets. Guess what? My kids like that stuff, too. But they also happen to like broccoli, edamame, couscous and tofu. They love pancakes and bacon for breakfast (or more often, for supper), but they also happily devour unsweetened steel cut oats nearly every morning.

No, I’m not bragging. I’m not trying to say, “Hey, look at what my kids will do that yours won’t do and never will because I’m a better parent than you are.” Definitely not. The point I’m trying to make is mostly for new parents, soon to be parents, or parents with kids who are incredibly flexible in scheduling, food, etc. Test your kids. Have fun with food. Make things that you assume they won’t eat, feed it to them, and be surprised. No, my kids won’t eat everything. There are certain foods that they all turn their noses up at, but I make a point to get them to try something not just once, but twice.

Jenny had a black olive at one point, and then declared that she didn’t like them. We let her go on like this for a long time, and then one night I explained to her how I used to hate broccoli. Like, seriously, gag me. Then I decided I didn’t want to hate broccoli. I wanted to love it. So I slowly started eating it again, first with lots of seasoning or cheese sauce, later with nothing more than a bit of salt or butter. And guess what? Broccoli is easily one of my favourite vegetables now. So Jenny agreed to try an olive again. You guessed it – she loves them now.

I’m not telling you to change the way you eat. If you eat nothing more than macaroni and cheese and chicken nuggets, your kids will eat them, too. But every so often, pick a fruit or vegetable up from the grocery store that you haven’t had before. Buy something from the Asian, Mexican or Natural foods section. Try it with your kids. If you’re not a picky eater and you’ll eat everything under the sun, then by all means, feed it to your kids, too.

I love hanging out with my parents, who will both eat just about anything. We ate a lot of typical kid foods when we were young, but as teenagers, they gave us variety, and took us out to restaurants other than McDonald’s or Taco Bell. We ate Thai food, real Mexican food made by Mexicans (the most authentic we could get without leaving town) and meals made entirely without meat (yes, they exist!!). I believe that the way my kids eat now is largely thanks to my parents and how they fed me.

There are things that Mike loves that I’d rather not touch (meat, for example, but I’m also not crazy about brussels sprouts). There are things that I love that Mike won’t eat (cilantro, salmon), but we feed all of the above to the kids, whether we both like it or not.

My kids are not perfect, but the fact that they will eat – or at least try – anything set in front of them, is pretty cool. I’m proud of them for it, but I know that a lot of this has to do with what I choose to put in front of them. I don’t make them their own meals, separate from ours. They eat what I feel like making. Sometimes they like it, sometimes they don’t.

Anyway, that’s all on that subject for now.

Two other things. One is a confession of sorts. I (gulp) edit comments. I do not change what you have said, but if there are typos or spelling/grammar mistakes, I often fix them. I have this brain that won’t let me leave it alone. So while I leave the content the same, I might fix it for you. I hope you don’t mind. If you do, well, don’t comment. 😀

Second thing is this: I bought Pampers because they were cheaper with a coupon than the regular price Wal Mart diapers. I am not a diaper snob. I will buy whatever is cheap because I have no reason to buy anything else. I know some people feel that their kids get less rashes in name brand, or that name brand diapers don’t leak as much, but in the case of my family, it doesn’t seem to make a difference. So I buy cheap. That’s who I am. Anyway, I bought these diapers and I have one thing to say about them. They stink. As in, they are scented! Ew. The potentially calming baby powder/baby oil scent is quickly made completely disgusting when mixed with the potent stench of baby poo. I’d rather just smell baby poo, thank you very much. 

The end.

7 Comments

Filed under Food Blogs, Kiddos, Rants

7 responses to “Food for Thought

  1. Tara

    You can change my spelling mistakes, but not my grammar mistakes. I make most of them on purpose to convey a feeling or a way of speaking. I am often changing my sentences and I just changed that one. I am done. Really done. Hahaha. Does that really bother you? Or just the accidental grammar mistakes???

    • Katie

      No, mostly things like confusing “their/they’re/there” and sometimes lack of proper punctuation. 🙂 I think I can tell when someone did something on purpose, and I’m not an English teacher grading a paper or anything, just someone who notices typos, spelling mistakes and really bad grammar mistakes. It grates on me to see things that I assume the writer didn’t mean to do. I never change things that I think the commenter will notice, just little things. AND not every time, either. 😀 Don’t worry, Tara, I won’t “edit” you. And, for the record, I can’t actually remember if I’ve ever edited your comments anyway.

  2. I hate it when posts have grammar or spelling mistakes. I’m even talking about big name blogs that have a huge following! It’s a pet peeve of mine as well. Facebook is really bad about it, drives me nuts!

    I don’t like diapers that have the scent either. Luvs uses it and I guess Pampers does now also. We have always used Huggies as we don’t have to change the diaper as often. It can last 2-3 pees instead of just 1 without leaving my daughter a soggy mess. I noticed that the big boxes of Huggies went from 19 to 25 dollars in one price raise at Target AND Walmart! I bough the Parents Choice brand as a filler until we can buy diapers again, and I think they work just as well as Huggies so we might be switching to those!

    • Katie

      Yeah..we usually just stick to Parent’s Choice as well. After a few days of Pampers, I don’t really get why so many people think they’re awesome. I’ll probably go back and not bother with anything else unless they’re WAY cheaper (this was less than a cent per diaper difference, but I am a seriously frugal chick).

      And YES! I agree – I can’t stand that stuff on blogs. I read a few regularly that always – ALWAYS – have mistakes. Usually they’re simple ones, too, that could be caught with a spell checker and a simple read through a second time. I try to always read through my posts before I publish, and I usually do a spell check as well, although that isn’t always reliable.

  3. vanessa

    I HATE Pampers!
    I personally believe that scent created with chemicals should never ever be next to my baby’s senstitve bum, or anywhere else on a baby’s skin (so gross).
    I agree with you on the food thing too.

    • Katie

      What bugs me is that I looked at the Pampers box and it didn’t say anywhere that there was a scent added to them. If wipes are scented, they have to have “parfum” or whatever on the ingredient list. Annoying!

  4. LeAnna

    I agree, people would have freaked out on facebook. Remember how my little food status took off with a life of it’s own? I love watching Logan try new and different types of food. 🙂 My husband and I have VERY different tastes in food, the closest he comes to seafood is clam chowder and fish sticks. Logan’s favorite food of the moment is thai! It’s exciting to see such a wide palate in a toddler, but like you mentioned most people feed their children what they eat. This last fall I bought figs for the first time and Logan loves them! I don’t like to eat oranges, but I still bought some for him to try. Why deprive your child of something that might become their favorite food?

    I agree about the pampers! I bought some last month because they were cheaper… never again. :/

Leave a Reply

