Taking a Break

My brain is tired. Just plain tired.

The idea of an internet fast has been brewing for awhile. I’ve been feeling a bit bombarded by information lately, overwhelmed with social media and hundreds of interesting blog posts that I just have to read.

This morning, I opened my Bible to Romans 12 (I’ve been reading Romans over and over again since August), and the second verse practically glowed. Okay, it was already highlighed in yellow, but really, it stood out to me. Romans 12:2 says, “And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, so that you may prove what the will of God is, that which is good and acceptable and perfect.”

I’ve needed to do some serious debriefing for awhile now. I still have my experience from Breakforth in the back of my mind, a year old now and fading fast. My postpartum issues have fogged my mind and made working through new ideas difficult. I try to leave my computer turned off for a good part of the day, but even when I wait until late afternoon, I still spend hours on it in the evening. I’ve been staying up too late, often just because I’m reading something or watching something online.

I need a break.

So, on Wednesday, I’m going to start a week of internet fasting. I may have to do a bit of online banking, but I don’t plan to blog, Facebook or check email for a full week.

I do plan on writing a lot in that week. I may spend some time creating something if I feel up to it. I intend to spend a bit more time just sitting with my kids and giving them my attention. I’m sleep deprived, have a teething baby and I need to do some figurative deep breathing for a while.

I’ll spend tomorrow finishing up as much as I can so that I can be away from all of this for a week, but really, other than some banking and a few emails that I should send, it’s not as though I need to use the internet.

If anyone else decides to try a day or two, a week, a month, etc. of internet fasting, I’d love to hear how it goes!

3 Comments

Filed under Faith, Life, in general, The Interweb

3 responses to “Taking a Break

  1. ChapmansRus

    Great idea! NOt goign to join you this time, but great idea! I’l be praying for you during your week “off”

  2. ChapmansRus

    Sorry for all my typos!! Going to bed now… 😀

  3. vanessa

    That is such a wise thing to do, good for you.

Leave a Reply

