Still here

I know it’s been awhile. I think about writing something nearly every day, but I also think about doing laundry, washing dishes, sweeping floors, reading to the kids, reading to myself, making something…etc, etc.

The truth is, something changed after I had Ben. He is the kind of kid that makes you slow down because you have no choice. He clings to me half the day and the other half finds things to chew on that really shouldn’t be in anyone’s mouth. If I start any task, he seems to know and comes crawling, wimpering all the way to me, grabs my legs and stands there waiting for me to pick him up. Just now he’s doing this, although he stopped on his way over to put a dried black bean in his mouth (note to self: vacuum the floors, pronto). And then when I pick him up, he often freaks out anyway and acts as though he wants to be put back down. Of course, when I put him back down, he freaks out even more. I just can’t figure him out.

In fact, it’s a good thing that WordPress so handily saves my drafts automatically, because about three sentences ago, Ben crawled underneath the desk and hit the power button on the computer (note to self: buy a laptop, pronto). So good thing for those drafts.

Anyway, it’s not that I don’t have time to write, or time to do any other number of things, it’s that whenever I have the time, Ben decides that leaving me alone is really not a good use of his time. Humbug.

I should probably start blogging at night. It might work out a whole lot better for everyone.

2 Comments

Filed under All things mommy and daddy related, Life, in general

2 responses to “Still here

  1. ChapmansRus

    If you had a laptop, you could blog from the bathroom… it’s my quiet place to read.. if that’s tmi, I’m sorry.. just being honest 😉

    • Katie

      There’s hardly anything that counts as TMI to me anymore…except the details of other people’s sex lives…yeah, generally TMI.
      And yes, that is totally true! I’ve taken my netbook on vacation before and used it in the bathroom of hotel rooms while waiting for my kids to fall asleep in the other room. 🙂

Leave a Reply

